Be careful what you wish for (but don’t be scared of it!)

work loadI know I speak for a lot of us when I say that the first six months or so of my budding career were mind-numbingly boring. I would go around the office searching for any little project that I could help with. It didn’t help that the position I was hired for was one that I knew I didn’t want to stay in for long. I was looking for any way to have something more to do at work, rather than spending hours a day at my desk scouring through Buzzfeed.

Fast forward 15 months – I now have more projects at work than I know what to do with. I’ve transitioned into a role in my company that I actually want to keep doing, and I have a lot more responsibility. The “new kid” syndrome that I was complaining about last year is an ancient memory.

Don’t get me wrong – I wouldn’t change how the past year has gone one bit. I’m glad that I fought to change my situation. But now I have the problem of juggling more work than I ever imagined I would have in the second year of my career. Since transitioning into a different role, I have still been helping out with my original duties until my company hires a replacement for me. I am essentially doing the work of two people.

I can’t help but look at the circumstances and laugh. A year ago I was complaining about not having enough to do. Now I am complaining about having too much to do. As one of my good friends told me, it’s either feast or famine – no in between. I know once I get settled into my new responsibilities and role that my work load will level off. Until then, I just have to dig in and get to work.

Have any of you experienced a transition like this?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for (but don’t be scared of it!)

  1. Kc says:

    I hope I get to an increased workload. I am still suffering from “new kid” syndrome and feel pretty useless.

    • How long have you been at your position? I think for the majority of us it took about six to eight months in our first jobs to get past the new kid syndrome. I remember being SO bored during the day, but now by the time 5:00 rolls around I’ve probably eaten lunch at my desk and have a to-do list for the next day that’s already a mile long.

      • Kc says:

        I’ve been in my position for about three months. The hard part is being the newest manager. I never get assigned manager tasks. I keep pretty busy but as 5 rolls around I’m bored and have no desire to stay extra.

Leave a comment